Knowledge share between ERNACT network’s partners

Go Back
A delegation from Derry & Strabane (Northern Ireland) has traveled to South Ostrobothnia (Finland) to learn about their fiber network.
25 September 2017 - DIGITAL REGIONS  project
The ERNACT network of regions allow the know-how share between the Core ERNACT Regions and project partner regions in order to exchange knowledge and improve regions' and cities' capacities and development in fields like innovation, IT or connectivity, among others. In this way, a number of people of Derry City and Strabane District Council, in Northern Ireland, arrived to Seinäjoki (South Ostrobothnia region in Finland), on 18 September, to get acquainted with the fiber networks. The five-member group consisted of local decision-makers in Derry and Strabane area and one of the ERNACT’s project managers. 

The Regional Council of South Ostrobothnia hosted different visits to show how they are working on fiber network in the Finnish locations of Seinäjoki, Kuusiokunnat and Suupohja. As an example, the group visited the town of Kauhajoki to hear about the construction phases of the Suupohja fiber network and the services provided with it. The event organized by the joint venture of the Economic Development Agency of Suupohja Region discussed between others, the importance of fiber from the point of view of local businesses and municipal administration. At the end of the day, guests could also test Oculus Rift virtual goggles and immerse themselves in the 3D world.

"The guests were impressed with how good network connections exist in the countryside of South Ostrobothnia and how we have been able to make use of them. South Ostrobothnia is known in Europe as a pioneer in fiber network affairs and through the ERNACT network we continue to work to increase this awareness", says Marjatta Eväsoja from the Regional Council of South Ostrobothnia and a core ERNACT member.

The group also traveled to the town of Alavus in the neighbouring sub-region of Kuusiokunnat, where they were introduced to the internet service provider Kuuskaista Oy. In addition the group visited the Alavus town hall’s distant service desk and heard about the local business life. After returning to Seinäjoki, the Derry representatives got a tour at the Nordic Telemedicine Center, a home-like environment dedicated in promoting modern e-health technologies. They visited the Seinäjoki Apila Library and the Alvar Aalto Center as well.

Jose Manuel San Emeterio, Project Manager at ERNACT, highlighted the opportunity to see closely how fast fiber network connections work in Finnish rural areas. "Suupohja's experiences are an extremely good example of responding to the challenges of Derry & Strabane area. It has also been positive to see how many services this region is running and how to maximize the benefits of fiber optic networks for rural development".

The Regional Council of South Ostrobothnia, Economic Development Agency of Suupohja Region and ERNACT are all partners in the ERUDITE project, aimed at improving the digital capabilities of rural and urban areas in the EU.

Picture by Regional Council of South Ostrobothnia.

Click here to email  Ianire Renobales at ERNACT for further information

Project Logo Project Graphic

Other Stories

SECURE Swedish partner holds fifth stakeholder meeting
14 December 2017
ALAV held successful meeting with many questions and conversations around energy efficiency.
more »
Donegal Digital secures go-ahead to develop a Digital Hub
12 December 2017
The hub will be a focus for connecting Inishowen to the wider regional tech ecosystem to provide innovation, technology transfer and enterprise support.
more »
'Low Carbon Policy Benefits' seminar hosted by Leitrim County Council
30 November 2017
SECURE partners met on 30th November with presentations made by policy experts at an Irish, European and International level.
more »
SECURE project partner Leitrim County Council host fruitful fourth project meeting
29 November 2017
Partners discussed project progress and agreed upcoming activities.
more »
Newfoundland and Labrador
South Ostrobothnia
West Romania
San Sebastián
Derry & Strabane
United Kingdom