New region joins the ERNACT network

< Go Back
Europe’s Irish speaking region represented by Údarás na Gaeltachta!
02 September 2020 - ERNACT  project
ERNACT, European Regions Network for the Application of Communications Technology, are delighted to announce that Europe’s Irish speaking region has joined the network.

They will be represented by Údarás na Gaeltachta, the Irish Government’s statutory agency with responsibility for the economic, social and cultural development of Ireland’s Gaeltacht (Irish speaking) region. 

The Gaeltacht region covers parts of seven counties in Ireland, and Údarás na Gaeltachta development strategy places special emphasis on digital transformation, including developing a network of 30 digital hubs throughout the Gaeltacht (including offshore islands) as a basis for innovation, entrepreneurship and remote working.

Údarás has been collaborating with the ERNACT regions and cities on a project-by-project basis for a number of years now, including the introduction of digital transformation in fishing and tourism and digital innovation hub development.

“Becoming a full member of the ERNACT network will enable us to build on this solid collaboration by jointly planning with the other ERNACT regions to take advantage of the increased sustainable digital transformation measures planned for the new EU programmes for the 2021-2027 period”, states Micheál Ó hÉanaigh, Údarás na Gaeltachta Chief Executive Officer.

The news was warmly welcomed by Anna Ní Ghallachair and Brian Boyle, the chairpersons of Údarás na Gaeltachta and ERNACT, respectively.

The ERNACT network, comprising of a number of regional and city public authorities, universities and development agencies have been working together since 1991 to access European Union programmes and funding to add value to each region’s digital transformation efforts.

Our network now comprises of nine European regions and cities and the province of Newfoundland and Labrador in Canada. The full list of their representative organisations is:

  • Derry City and Strabane District Council (Northern Ireland)
  • Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (Canada)
  • Donegal County Council and Údarás na Gaeltachta (Ireland)
  • West Regional Development Agency (Romania)
  • Association of Local Authorities in Västernorrlands (Sweden)
  • Regional Council of South Ostrobothnia (Finland)
  • University of Ljubljana (Slovenia)
  • Fomento San Sebastian and the Government of Cantabria (Spain).

Colm Mc Colgan, ERNACT General Manager, stated that “the diverse cultures and languages represented in the ERNACT network, deepened now by the addition of the Irish Gaeltacht region, strengthens our capability to offer unique approaches and solutions to Europe’s digital transformation challenges”.

Welcome on board / Fáilte ar bord!

Click here to email  Ianire Renobales at ERNACT for further information

Project Logo Project Graphic

Other Stories

The ERNACT network gets ready for the new EU programming period 2021-2027
20 November 2020
Are you interested in digitally transforming your region? Begin the process with ERNACT! We are ready for the digitalization of different sectors.
more »
SAFER project is awarded at the Atlantic Project Awards 2020
20 November 2020
SAFER gets its award under the ‘Atlantic Ports and Blue Economy’ category
more »
SAFER workshop during the Atlantic Stakeholder Platform Conference
16 November 2020
The 7th Atlantic Stakeholder Platform Conference is going to be the first occasion to launch the Atlantic Action Plan 2.0.
more »
Innovation as a Service (IaaS) approach: supporting the next generation of digital transformation ecosystems
16 November 2020
CARPE DIGEM partnership, in which the ERNACT network participates, will organise a round table to share the successful IaaS model.
more »
Core ERNACT regions
Newfoundland & Labrador
South Ostrobothnia
West Romania
San Sebastián
Derry & Strabane
United Kingdom