Browse here to find out about ERNACT EEIG

ERNACT, or European Regions Network for the Application of Communications Technology, is an international network for European cities and regions. It was formed in 1991 to jointly pursue digital transformation funding, development and transfer of know-how opportunities. Network members are public service organisations such as city and regional authorities or universities that work together to access European Union digitalisation programmes and funding for the benefit of their area, companies and universities.

What do we do?
The ERNACT network has established a model for cooperation, at interregional and transnational level, between cities and regions wishing to work together in European Union digital transformation programmes. We have developed an approach for optimising cooperation in European projects to meet regions’ Smart Specialisation and Digital Transformation needs. We share knowledge by implementing international innovative projects related to: Digital Innovation Hubs, Artificial Intelligence (AI) Virtual Reality (VR), Internet of Things (IoT), public services, smart energy, open innovation, SMEs, tourism, aquaculture, sustainable communities, and rural development.

How do we operate?
We research our members’ development needs and we identify digital transformation priorities. With the support from European Union’s funding programmes, we connect territories that are facing similar challenges and we prepare joint project proposals. In that way, we design and develop new international cooperation projects, capturing the opportunities that interregional partnerships bring. We share and disseminate partners’ and stakeholders’ expertise and coordinate the exchange of experience process through good practices, case studies, services and results. We also implement pilot projects to ensure that final users benefit from our interregional cooperation strategies. 

Our Ethos
ERNACT actively promotes through digital transformation and project activities and processes:
  1. Mutual understanding and dialogue between Europe’s regions and their people of their rich and diverse cultures, heritage, langauge and development perspectives.
  2. Positive experience of all persons regardless of ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, societal circumstances or level of disability.
  3. Foster greener and more sustainable communities in our regions and cities.

The ERNACT network of regions currently has 12 live Digital Transformation projects, involving 50 regions and 60 organisations.

Core ERNACT regions
Newfoundland & Labrador
South Ostrobothnia
Upper Franconia
West Romania
Derry & Strabane
United Kingdom